Related Information Examples & Tutorials
Want on-line debtor negotiation portal? Contact our friendly sales team to find out how!
“ Your service is the benchmark that others could only hope to reach when dealing with their customers ” Paul S.

How To Copy User Levels

This document explains how to copy a User Level setting. This is useful if you want to experiment with settings or customize them.

Overview

Collect! contains a complete "working set" of User Levels. The settings have been chosen to emulate practical access levels for different types of users that you may have in your office. You may want to adjust some of these settings. If so, we recommend that you make a copy of the user level and experiment on that. By leaving the original level intact, you can always revert back to it, if needed.

Top of page.

Run UID Check

Before you copy User Level settings, you should first run a UID Check as a preliminary step as described below.

1. Sign into Collect! as User Level 99 (ID and Password 99) in Exclusive Mode in the Demonstration or Masterdb Database. Each database has its own list of user levels. So sign into the one you want to work with in this exercise.

Do not copy User Levels from one database to another!

2. At the Main Menu, select File from the top menu bar and then select Maintenance.

3. Select UID CHECK and then select nxuser from the Database pick list in the UID Maintenance form.

4. Select START and then OK to run the UID Check.

5. If any errors are encounters, this utility will correct them.

Top of page.

Rebuild Access Rights

Next, you should rebuild your access rights list as described below.

1. You should already be signed into Collect! as 99/99 in Exclusive mode after performing the UID Check.

2. At the Main Menu, select System from the top menu bar and then select Rights, Access Rights.

3. Press the REBUILD button at the bottom of the Access Rights List to rebuild the access rights.

Top of page.

Copy User Levels

Now, you can copy one or several User Levels from the User Level list.

1. Sign into Collect! as User Level 99 (ID and Password 99) in the Demonstration or Masterdb Database. Each database has its own list of user levels. So sign into the one you want to work with in this exercise.

2. Select System from the top menu bar and then select Rights, User Levels.

3. From the list that is displayed, use the arrow keys to locate and highlight the User Level you would like to copy.

tip.gif To copy multiple User Levels, use the arrow keys to highlight each item and press the spacebar. The item will appear yellow as you tag it and blue when you move off of it. To deselect an item, return to it using the arrow keys and press the spacebar again.

4. Select Edit from the top menu bar and then select Copy. You will be notified that your User Levels have been copied to the Clipboard.

5. Select OK.

6. With the list of User Levels displayed, select the Edit menu again and then select Paste. After a little while, In the list of User Levels, you should see two copies of the level you just pasted. This step may take a little time because the User Level has a lot of information that has to be copied and pasted.

7. Check the User Levels you copied to make sure they have all their settings.

Top of page.

Rename User Levels

When you copy a user level, you will want to change the ID and/or name so that you do not have two identical user levels in the lists.

1. With the User Level list still displayed, use the arrow keys to locate and highlight the User Level you would like to rename.

2. Click on this or press enter to open the User Level form for this level.

3. Change the Code and/or Name.

tip.gif For instance, you could change level 10, System Manager to level 11, Old System.

4. Click OK to close the User Level form and again to close the User Levels list.

Top of page.

Run UID Check Again

After you have copied new user levels, run the UID Check again as described above. This will correct any duplicates that may have been created by the copying process.

Top of page.

Rebuild Access Rights Again

Next, rebuild your access rights again as described above. You can now proceed to make adjustments to the User Level settings to suit your requirements. After making changes, you will have to rebuild your Access Rights again.

tip.gif Test your new user levels after making changes to them.

tip.gif You must sign out of Collect! completely, returning to the Desktop, whenever you change to a different User Level, or some of the rights from the previous level that you were signed in as may still be in effect.

Always ensure that all your Operators are set up to use a valid User Level that is in the User Level list. This is especially important if you have renumbered any of the levels.

Top of page.

See Also

- How To Start Using Collect!
- Copy Operator Configuration

Top of page.

Was this page helpful? Do you have any comments on this document? Can we make it better? If so how may we improve this page.

Please click this link to send us your comments: helpinfo@collect.org

Collection Advisor Veracode Verified RMA ACA Member