Related Information
Tired of the costs and headaches of managing your workstations, servers and backups? The Collect! Cloud Solution takes care of that, and you can work from anywhere in the world at any time!
“ The Collect! Task Scheduler has significantly reduced the number of behind-the-scenes tasks that we run everyday. ” Scott P.

Database Maintenance In Scheduler

You can use Collect!'s Scheduler to run your maintenance functions off hours. The Scheduler automatically logs users off if necessary before beginning the maintenance routines.

We recommend you backup critical data files before running maintenance since, if the machine is failing, the maintenance, while manipulating data files, may cause undesirable consequences and, potentially, loss of data.

tip.gif Please refer to Backup Database Topics for options for backing up your files.

Configuration for Database Maintenance in the Scheduler uses the options set in the Database Maintenance Options form to perform all the available functions.


Database Maintenance Options

Every function except dbcheck requires that the Scheduler have exclusive access to the database.

The Scheduler locks down the CV11 Server and uses the instant messaging feature to nudge everyone out of the system, kicking out any stragglers who are left behind.

At the time set in the Scheduler for your Database Maintenance, the Scheduler evaluates your user session status and begins a countdown to timeout.

tip.gif The timeout is set for 3 minutes, currently it is not configurable.

1. If the Scheduler is the only session logged in, the maintenance starts immediately. The server is locked before the maintenance and unlocked after. When the server is locked nobody can log in.

2. If users are logged in, the server messages them all with a 3 minute warning and waits for everyone to log out.


Scheduler Begins to Send Messages to Users

Each user who is still signed into Collect! receives a warning.


Scheduler Prompts User to Log Out

The Scheduler is updated to show how many users are still logged in.


Scheduler Shows One User Still Logged In

Two minute and One minute warnings are displayed in each user's Collect! title bar.


Title Bar Shows Time Left Before Maintenance Begins

3. If users are still logged in after 3 minutes, the Scheduler waits 30 seconds for them to log out and then disconnects them from the CV1 Server.


Message to User Booted from Collect!

Whether or not the user selects OK, they are still disconnected from the server at this point.

Then the Scheduler begins the scheduled maintenance routines.

4. Anyone who tries to log in while maintenance is running will not be allowed.


Message to User Trying to Log In During Maintenance

5. After the maintenance routines have finished, the CV11 Server is unlocked and anyone can log in again as they would normally.

tip.gif If the Scheduler is not able to disconnect all sessions when the Scheduler is ready to do the maintenance, the maintenance task will be aborted.

Summary

Collect!'s Scheduler can run your maintenance functions off hours, automatically disconnecting any users from the CV11 Server, if necessary, before beginning the maintenance routines.

Configuration for Database Maintenance in the Scheduler uses the options set in the Database Maintenance Options form to perform all the available functions.

The Scheduler locks down the CV11 Server and uses the instant messaging feature to nudge everyone out of the system, kicking out any stragglers who are left behind. After the maintenance tasks are completed, users can log back into Collect! as they would normally.

Top of page.

See Also

- Scheduler
- Database Maintenance Options

Top of page.

Was this page helpful? Do you have any comments on this document? Can we make it better? If so how may we improve this page.

Please click this link to send us your comments: helpinfo@collect.org

Collection Advisor Veracode Verified RMA ACA Member